About Us

The Society, Incorporated

The Society, Incorporated was founded in May 1983 by four women who conceived the idea of organizing a

group of professional women who shared the goals of friendship and service. The outcome of their efforts was the establishment of The Society as an organization to promote friendship among members and serve as a resource in the arts for young people.

The Montgomery County (MD) Chapter


The Montgomery County, Maryland Chapter of The Society, Incorporated was chartered on Sunday, May

23, 1993 at the Naval Officers’ Club in Bethesda, Maryland.  As the fifth chapter of the organization, we have held steadfast in our efforts and commitment to educate, support and inspire young people in the arts. For over 25 years, we have partnered with various community organizations such as Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School in its celebration of Black History Month; support of Walter Johnson High School in its Annual Spring Choral Awards Concert; and community leaders to support our youth.


On a bi-annual basis, we have a presentation of Youth in the Arts Showcase to display youth dedicated to the arts in the county as well as award scholarships to students that have demonstrated excellence in the arts.

Chapter Officers

President Muriel Stone Nolen

Recording Secretary Toian Vaughn

Treasurer Sheila Ogilvie

Chaplains Alberta Clement and Sandra Jenkins

Vice President Mary P. Douglass

Corresponding Secretary Erma Withers

Financial Secretary Mary Wilson


Anika L. Allard
Janice Burton
Dorothye V.C. Bush*
Stephanie Cummings Carr
Alberta Clement*
Mary P. Douglass*
Erslyn H. Foster
Mozelle G Fountain+
Chelsey A. Green
Sandra J. Jenkins
Nadine King+
Beverly G. Lewis-Rachal
Keitha Walker Mahone
Tiffany C. McEwan
Melva M. Meade
Shirley Ballard Miller
Dana K. Joi-Morgan

Rodnika Murphy
Muriel Stone Nolen*
Shelia G. Ogilvie*
Joan C. Payne-Clark
Lois A. Poag-Ray
J. Shannon Powell
Anna Riley
Mary S. Robinson
Sophia O. Robinson
Alethia L. Spraggins +**
Cheryl M. Thomas
Shani M. Waugh
Toian Vaughn*
Carolyn Wilson
Mary Wilson*
Erma Withers*

* Officers               ** Past National President               + Life Members

"Supporting the Dreamers of Today, to Become stars of tomorrow"


Our Mission

  • To promote friendship and social exchange among members

  • To function as a resource for young people in the arts

  • To promote educational, civic and cultural experiences within the community.

© 2020 The Society, Incorporated - Montgomery County (MD) Chapter. All Rights Reserved.                       Webstite by: W2W Technologies, LLC